Casual Comments & Compliments

Casual Comments & Compliments can punch as much magick into a soul as the most well thought, planned and executed spell. A casual comment is stated to people daily. But the Divine comment, a rare gift, will stick and change and alter the soul for a lifetime. It was a casual comment that changed Garth Brooks from an olympian hopeful to a full time musician. There he was lying on his back having just fallen with the pole vaulting bar that he had tried to clear at some pre-trial Olympian event. His mind and body overwhelmed by his own personal tragedy of not clearing the bar, of missing his opportunity. When a woman walking past him said, “Now you can start doing what it is you are suppose to be doing.” Suddenly, all that energy that would have been focused into the sadness of failure turned instead to energy. Energy and an epiphany that what he was suppose to be doing was music.

For my own self there are two casual comments that I know have changed my life.  Once, when I was in fifth grade struggling to get out of a lower level math class, I asked the teacher if I could retake the test. I knew, I knew the material. I was bored and embarrassed to be in that class.  So, I decided to ask her to take the section test. I was sure that I would easily pass the test and be able to move to the next level.  But Mrs. Stitchnough didn’t see it that way.  She looked down at me and said, “No, you are right where you belong.” That casual comment fueled a fire in me that still even today almost 40 years later, gets my ire up. That comment did more for my math ability than any tutor, parent or teacher since. That statement put fire of the Divine into my soul that I was able to harness and focus that no other has ever inspired in me by design.

The casual comment is Divine in nature and solely meant and designed for the recipient. Any wording or timing of the comment changed in the slightest and the magick is lost. The casual comment is not a tool witches get to use and pull out of our tool bag. But it is one that we can request the Divine to use on our behalf. “Have my child hear through words not mine how gifted they are, how sublime” is one possible request for its use.

Compliments, they say are a dime a dozen. And it is true they are but, they can also be powerful charms. The power in a compliment relies on the relationship of the one giving the compliment to the one receiving the compliment. The relationship between the two replaces the power of the “INTENT.” Usually, with magick and magickal charms it is the intent which is the most important ingredient. But not with the compliment. The compliment, as a magickal charm relies on the isolation of the target at the time the compliment is given and the person issuing the compliment. As an example, I had a boss that knew of this power and how to use it. This boss was someone who spoke to you everyday. Usually one on one as well as in a group situation. Once about every three months or so, he would look me up and down plaster a big grin on his face and said, “you look great! have you lost a little weight?” I would walk around proud as a peacock for the rest of the month. Feeling good about myself made me down right “chipper!” I am sure my production level rose as well. It was not until months after he left the company when we were all sitting around talking about how great he was that I learned that he did that line to everyone every once in a while  just to make them feel good.

When the same comment that my boss said come from my mother or a friend I summarily dismissed the compliment. But because my boss was outside of my support network ( friends, co-workers  family) the compliment pierced through the protective armor. Also because it was given very sparingly. It was a rare compliment.

Isolation is also important when the compliment is given. Otherwise, its effect is diluted when the recipient has a friend, family member, or person next to them. There are exceptions but alone they/we are more receptive to the compliment. How many times have you received a compliment taken it to heart and then instantly dismissed it over the look your friend gave you?   And it does not matter if the friend agrees or disagrees, smiles and nods or shakes and laughs just them standing there somehow took the magick out of the compliment.

Magick and the Divine are woven in plain sight around us everyday.  Compliments and casual comments can easily be overlooked as magick but don’t you be fooled!

One thought on “Casual Comments & Compliments

  1. Pingback: Daughters’ Metamorphosis into Magick | phoebe fields

Leave a Reply

