Clarifying Witchcraft and Pagan for myself

I have had a difficult time distinguishing where my pagan path is and where my witchcraft path is. In an email to a friend and Elder I did a rather good job of clarifying the issue up for myself. I am sharing it here for others that may find it useful. 

I consider myself a witch because I commune with spirits. The spirits of the trees, the wind, the flame, the animals, those with a physical body and those without. I am a witch because these elements are willing to work with me for purposes of healing, manifesting, protecting and many times for their own purpose. I am a witch because the wind will call to me and I will answer. Not because it would be fun to stand in the wind during a storm but because my soul needs to be there. That it has a deep desire to feel the power of the and intensity of the air and an even deeper, stronger desire to harvest its power for good use. I am a witch because I feel my ancestors’ need to be recognized and to give them voice. Or because I understand which stones would like to protect our home and want to do good work and which ones would be unkind. And a thousand more reasons.
 
I am pagan because I believe that the universe was created not by Jehovah. I am pagan because I believe there are many gods. I am pagan because I worship a handful of gods. Because I worship the three phases of the Goddess by communing with her symbol the moon. I am pagan because I commune with the sun as a symbol of a male god. I am pagan because I am no longer Christian.
Leave a Reply

